A man gave me flowers last night

image

I stepped out of Easy Hours and pointed myself home, ignoring the musician gaily playing guitar as he sat against the railings opposite the shop. Then “excuse me” and I turned to see a man proffering three stems: an orange rose, a red carnation and gypsophila.
“They’re lovely!” I exclaimed while searching his face: did he want something in return? I just wanted to get home: it was after one in the morning and I was tired from my five hour train journey. He pushed them into my hand. I took them. His eyes were kind and smiled into mine. Putting one hand on my shoulder he said, “have a good night.” Then he walked away.
“Thank you,” stumbled from my mouth and off I walked, stunned.

What do you think?

