Interim Crit – presented my ideas

Presented some of the footage I’ve taken so far. Edmund asked which idea I was most taken with and it is Caisie’s tree and the outrage I feel about it being potentially cut down just because it doesn’t fit the council’s plans for the park. Matthew advised me to read Jean Paul Sartre’s Nausea. The protagonist overidentities with a tree. The images I presented made it look as if something had happened – a scene of crime – and were like news footage. When I said the tent had gone so I couldn’t get hold of Caisie’s friends, Jess said there was usually someone there every morning – he passes by it on his way to uni, so I could go there and get the story of Caisie’s connection with the tree. The general consensus was “do the tree” over the other ideas which were a bit more abstract or removed. I guess it feels risky because I feel emotionally involved in the tree idea.

What do you think?

