Sound and vision: a story within a story: Wael Shawky’s Al Araba Al Madfuna II (2013)

image

 

This is a photo I took at the Serpentine Gallery showing of Wael Shawky’s Al Araba Al Madfuna II. I like the lighting and the choice of using black and white, rather than colour. There were two stories in this film and I like this idea also. The idea of two stories also occurs in Apocalypse Now!, where Martin Sheen’s character cannot tell Marlon Brando’s character’s story without telling his own, and in The Comical Tragedy or Tragical Comedy of Mr Punch, where a man’s reminiscence allows the story of Punch and Judy to unfold. I’m going to allow my film to reflect the story of Punch and Judy and my father’s story will be reflected in Punch.

What do you think?

