Sound and vision: shot aesthetics

All my shots so far are from above, looking down on the action, as I make the puppets. In The Filmmaker’s Eye: Learning (and Breaking) the Rules of  Cinematic Composition by Gustavo Mercado, it says high angled shots produce a sense of vulnerability and I suppose that’s because it’s associated with the subject being lower in height than the observer and, therefore, childlike in stature.

I do feel vulnerable as I make the puppets; I haven’t made anything like this before. I’m at the edge of my creative instinct and afraid of what I might produce – it might be so abhorrent and disgusting that I’ll be shunned and despised.

What do you think?

