Wonder Land and open source code

20140401_160206

Today I watched Depression, the secret we share, a TED talk by Andrew Solomon (it was on my Facebook feed). He shares some stark truths about depression and how it is to be depressed, alongside some ideas of what could help to relieve it. The relief from depression seems to be the best one can hope for rather than the cessation of it. What do other cultures do around this – do they have depression? Solomon has a book (of course) about depression but reviews on Amazon stated his writing was very subjective, albeit eloquently so, and I was guided to a book that is more matter of fact: Lewis Wolpert’s Malignant Sadness, The Anatomy of Depression, which I will pick up from the University of Brighton library at Falmer when I have more oomph.

Perhaps turning towards something worthwhile is a way of curing depression. One of the things I like about Linux, as an operating system, is that it is open source and, therefore, subverts the proprietary way capitalism works. The paragraph about open source code pasted in my notebook in the photograph above comes from Get Back In The Box, Innovation from the Inside Out by Douglas Rushkoff. I cut a lot of the pages of his book out and pasted stuff over the rest; it was the book I used to record my process on my last project. Some of the pages of the book, which is a book designed to help businesses reconnect with what they do well rather than focus on profit, provide me with some good quotes and inspiration, like this one about open source code. I downloaded Eric S. Raymond’s The Cathedral and the Bazaar, read it avidly, and copied the points he made about building something with open source principles. Of course, he’s talking about building software programs, but I’m going to utilise it for Wonder Land, which I would like to be open source. I’m going to use his points to think about and take actions on aspects of Wonder Land.

2 thoughts on “Wonder Land and open source code

  1. Pingback: Adventure Playground versus The Gym | everything is art

  2. Pingback: Wonder Land: the 19 tenets of open source software design applied to building an adventure playground for grown ups | everything is art

What do you think?

